new gadget on board: OLYMPUS PEN EP-1 camera

OLYMPUS E-P1

The Olympus E-P1

This morning Mr. postman brought me a nice little parcel with my very new toy: the Olympus Pen E-P1 digital camera. Since I’ve had damaged my old Casio pocket camera last year I did not do any photography at all and I was that much undecided on leaving the pocket camera lane but same time hesitating to get a larger SLR type of camera. The new Olympus now is the perfect compromise to me since it is offering a much larger sensor which enables depth of field things and of course more sensitivity concerning light conditions and resolution but without that large and heavy body of a DSLR camera.

Voigtländer Bessa 66

My Voigtländer Bessa 66 (shot by the Olympus E-P1 today)

Traditionally, the very first picture with a new camera goes onto the oldest one I do have here – the Voigtländer Bessa 66, build in 1939 in germany. No, I’m not that old, it’s a camera refurbished by my dad and still working these days. For the kids here: that’s not digital, you need an analog film which then needs to become developed, it’s not automatic, you will have a lot of trouble with it and so on, in other words: it’s vintage.

My very first camera actually was a Voigtländer Vito B – and that was pretty much ancient already to that time but so I’ve learned photography the hard way. Maybe there will be some shots of other vintage and/or modern gear appear here during the next weeks or so …

Comments

  1. That’s a slick-lookin’ little toy you got there, Bootsy. Have fun! And maybe you can post some of those nifty photos so I have something new to look at when i visit your site 12 times a day in my eagerness for the Density II release? :-)

  2. Yap ! Density II ! Bring it out NOW ! I also have a Olympus (one of the first digital cameras they made) ! And yes they are realy good ! But i have the UAD Fairchild too ! And if i could choose either to compare both cameras or both compressors, i would take the last ones. ;-)

  3. Bluelight says:

    Beautiful camera.Hopefully i will afford one of those later on .

    I bought a digital camera a couple of years ago but was deeply disappointed.It was quite expensive but still performed very badly compared to a “real” camera.
    I checked the performance on your camera and the size of it coupled with the possibilities made me start to dream again :-)

  4. Ooooo, TruePic V Image Processor. Sweetness, I’ve heard a lot about it. :)

    I have an older larger Olympus with a TruePic Turbo which is still great.

    I bet one thing you’re finding with that camera is that it’s really hard to take a bad picture with it. :)

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

