A classification of digital equalizers (draft)

A must read for EQ aficionados 🙂
Thanks Vlad for sharing!

vladg/sound

Okay, this is my first try to make some kind of classification of digital equalizers. It’s mostly based on some defects or features they have in their responses. These defects or features give digital equalizers their unique sound. Sometimes they sound “digital” in bad meaning of this word (i.e. “harsh”) but the other side of digital sound is clean, pristine and maybe too cold sometimes. I don’t have much time to make this classification really glossy so it’s some kind of a draft.

In my opinion there’re 7 main properties of digital equalizers, which affect their sound:

  1. Frequency response behavior near Nyquist frequency
  2. Phase response behavior near Nyquist frequency
  3. Frequency response ringing
  4. Types of Curves
  5. Time domain response
  6. Saturation
  7. Noise

Now I’m going to try to illustrate possible cases for each property by some images mostly created by VST Plugin Analyzer. All pictures were created at 44.1 kHz sample rate…

View original post 1,979 more words

Comments

  1. … well I think I have masses of music you are interested in. I am a strictly non commercial at the moment, but this is just a political effect.
    Fats Wallers gave me a thousand great unreleased MIDIs to synthesize.

    Watching the DAW on the other screen I keep forgetting my English, but not to give something back to you, while your plugins do a big deal of the job to do.

    This businesses problem with me is that I am sober, vegan, abstinent and far off any smoking stuff. I hate satanism just because of its dullness…

    Maybe you like the first demo-sketches that I’ve released on themusichutch. You’ll find them by seeking my “Anita Gerbawatz” Facebook-Account for the links with the big green crosses.

    Made without your plugins, then. I’m new in “here are your instruments, orchestra, practicing room, thousand MIDIs and a few really really good fx-plugins – affordable even to you” – heaven.

    Perhaps you’ve put your socket-suckers into the signatures. Then you can hear with your plugged in ears how damn big the sound is growing.

    Now I am everything but absolutely have no idea about how to sell things.

    You could be a diffrent character. 🙂
    What I hear now sounds just rich, and rich enough to pay many social projects for other people like me, somewhat later.

    I’m now reallt interested in the morals you are giving away with your gifts.

    If you want, first learn more about mine and then write me an email.

    I would just insist on kind of a ‘straight edge’ production.

    Is that possible? I don’t know.

    Have a nice day!

What do you think?

